The Work Of Shaun Jacques

Radio Quiz

Above is my groups Radio project, the project has also been uploaded to Vimeo. But I will now explain the process over the last week or so that lead to this.

Last Tuesday we had our interim critque where our script and running order were looked into, We were given positive feedback for where our show was at that point, we shown the script which was posted in my last 262MC post, That day we also recorded our soundbites for the second round, we spent a while discussing what we would get them to answer for the round and then recorded the piece on Jambo’s sound recorder, we decided to go with this rather than the radio studio as we wanted to make it sound like we did get the sound from elsewhere (their home or via telephone etc) we defiantly didn’t want it to sound like it was recorded in the same room as Jim’s bit. We then spent the next two days practicing and were happy were we were apart from a few minor changes which were reflected in our script

ignorance

The major concern we had was for our ‘sound’ I tried to gain original sounds that would suit a radio one esque vibe, I used the who wants to be a millionaire sound as an example but i wanted something slightly more light hearted, however we couldn’t get sounds that suited this feel in time, So we made the decision to go w/ retro video games sounds as it added to the light hearted side of the quiz which was emphasized in the non-prize that was the dairy milk bar.

On the day of recording itself, we ran into a few problems with sounds, the sounds we got from the on the move recording were much louder than we anticipated and adam’s was distorted at the start, we did what we could with it, but it was impossible to fully sort out this problem, we also had an error in the script which I failed to change which caused an error in our first couple of attmepts,

we recorded the show about 5 times, our last 2 were nearly flawless, I ended up using the final recording for the edit, there was very little for me to rectify and most of what was edited was just gaps between jambo being silent and the jingles or songs starting.

all in all I’m very happy with this piece, I feel I got a great group to work with, I feel that any problems we had we’d take on well as a team rather than leave it all to one person and I personally was glad to have a much bigger voice in this production than what I had in both TV studio projects.

Feedback on my radio piece is greatly appreciated I realize there are faults and I wish Jim got a question wrong so we could get our antagonist host some more chances to show that off.

Til next time wordpress.

Leave a Reply

