The Work Of Shaun Jacques

BBC: Coventry & Warwickshire: Interview

About Fifteen minutes ago (yes, really I’m that quick to blog) I was at BBC CWR radio to have an interview about a possible placement. I haven’t mentioned it on the blog before but for the last few weeks I was desperatly trying to get a CV sorted so I could make the deadline for this. Fortunatly I made the deadline and was lucky enough to be offered an interview this morning with Duncan Jones of CWR and Shelley Stevenson of Coventry University (also in charge of the radio side of 262mc more on that in another post.)

In preperation I was asked to listen to Coventry & Warwickshire’s breakfast show with Tim & Miriam. I was asked to critically analyise the show and come prepred to talk about what’s good about the show and potential improvements. I also practiced interview techniques as it was my first interview for anything not to do with university for a long time.

So what happened? I hear you ask, Well I was meant to be at the interview at 11.20am but decided to leave a bit early so I could make sure I was there on time, I ended up being at the station at about 11:05 and we decided to have the interview early. I don’t know what to think about the interview, I think they liked what I had to say about the show and about myself and my previous experience, but I think I let my nerves show alot in the interview and also had little to say about CWR in general, I’m not a regular listener and that shown in the interview and may well count against me, I also could not think of any questions to ask in the interview.

Overall: I’ll find out in the next 24 hours or so if I will have a placement from this interview, whether or not I get it I’m glad I had the oppurtunity to go to the interview as I certinanly now feel I need to practice and perfect my Interviewing techinquies, I don’t think the interview was a failure but I certinanly feel there was room for improvement…but for now i’m crossing my fingers and looking in my E-Mail.

Leave a Reply

