The Work Of Shaun Jacques

Corby Radio Thus Far

As mentioned in my previous post, I have started doing some voluntarily work experience at my local radio station Corby Radio.

So far I have mainly been practicing writing stories to be read on air,  practicing editing sound  and tuning my radio voice. However on Thursday I managed to get my voice on air.

Me and a couple other members of the team went along with Stewart who is in charge of the news at the radio, to interview staff and students of the local schools because of the A-Level results that were released that day. I recorded two interviews which were used for the report. The Report is available to listen to here (my part is about 1/2 way through). We edited this together using ‘Cool Cut Pro’.

Thus far I had learnt a lot about how to report a radio story, How to write one and a lot of tips on making sound…sound better (admittedly one of my Achilles heel’s in my first year of uni)

Earlier today, I recorded a report about Corby’s Walk to the moon project, which was broadcast at 2.30pm today. I have also been asked if I can do part of next weeks pre-recorded news reports as cover for Stewarts usual pieces and also possibly find my way onto the sports show on Saturdays, however anything I do with the radio I have to organize around my paid work at a local shop.

For research for the next few days however I have been asked to listen to more radio and quick reports to hear how other people report stories.

‘although made for TV 60 seconds has many of the themes used in hourly radio news reports’

I feel I have done well so far in my experience and am happy to have had my voice on the radio and although so far I have not been perfect with everything (time of silence, tone, nerves and sound levels are still issues for me) I am more determined than ever to join the university’s station come Year 2 and am looking to enjoy the rest of my time with Corby Radio

Leave a Reply

